Questions About Documenting erb.rb

I'm currently trying to document erb.rb and this is my first big foray into RDoc land. erb.rb has code like this:

class ERB
  # ...
end

class ERB
  # ...
end

class ERB
  # ...
end

As near as I can determine, RDoc picks up the comment before the FINAL class definition to use in the documentation. Here are my questions about that:

1. Can I override this somehow? It seems odd to me to shove all the documentation down to almost the bottom of the source.

2. As a documentation writer, I assume my job is to affect the original source as little as humanly possible. (I'm even trying very hard to preserve the few comments that are there, though they aren't documentation material.) Given this, is a switch to:

class ERB
  # ...

# ...

# ...
end

overstepping my role? I don't feel right about it, but I would like to hear the opinions of others.

(Note: I do not believe the above would affect erb.rb syntax in any way. Please correct me if I'm wrong!)

Thanks.

James Edward Gray II

James Edward Gray II ha scritto:

I'm currently trying to document erb.rb and this is my first big foray into RDoc land. erb.rb has code like this:

just a note: have you joined the ruby-doc mailing list? it should be the place to coordinate and direct documentation efforts.
See ruby-doc.org for details

Why not move the documentation to the top? If there's no documentation before a class body, RDoc won't replace existing.

Cheers

Dave

···

On Oct 26, 2004, at 13:17, James Edward Gray II wrote:

As near as I can determine, RDoc picks up the comment before the FINAL class definition to use in the documentation. Here are my questions about that:

1. Can I override this somehow? It seems odd to me to shove all the documentation down to almost the bottom of the source.

If it's an RDoc question, it's probably best asked here. I'm not on the ruby-doc list.

Cheers

Dave

···

On Oct 26, 2004, at 14:09, gabriele renzi wrote:

James Edward Gray II ha scritto: